FacebookGoogle PlusInstagramLinkedInTwitter
Presented by State Library Victoria

All That Impossible Space by Anna Morgan Book Review

I’m not even going to lie but I was surprised I liked this as much as I did. It’s not really my genre: mystery however this novel was intertwined with contemporary particularly focusing on toxic friendships and on first loves.

The book is a #loveozya and set in both Melbourne and Adelaide surrounding the case of the Somerton Man in 1948 and of a young girl named Lara who is trying to discover more about him for an assignment given to her by her history teacher: Mr Grant. Who was he? How did he die? Did anyone know him? while juggling the struggles of year 10, the school musical production, her friend Ash and the mysterious new girl at school.

What can I say except I loved it? I honestly wished the book continued. I loved the characterisation of all the characters and how they all seemed the age they were portrayed to be. The book was said to be “Perfect for fans of Cath Crowley and Fiona Wood” and I can see that. I read Take Three Girls last year and I can definitely see the similarities between the two. There was a heap of content about toxic friendships turned to bullying and about standing up for yourself. I could even see the change in the characterisation of Lara and how she went from passive: quiet, shy and unwilling to speak her mind to make her friends happy to speaking up and being brave and confident.

Also I loved how the case of the Somerton Man was left unsolved. In YA or books in general mysteries tend to be solved. Even when they are real life mysteries the author makes some sort of ending that seems logical or makes sense to the murder/disappearance etc. But with All That Impossible Space Anna Morgan didn’t try to tie loose ends and I really respected her for that. Come on, the best mysteries are left unsolved (because then we’d get a heap of Buzzfeed Unsolved Episodes 😉 )

All in all, a wonderful debut. I loved it so much and wished for it to continue! I can’t wait to discuss this with my book club later this month!

ACTUAL RATING: 4.5 STARS

4 comments

inky Centre for Youth Literature

Sounds intriguing!

22nd Jul, 19
sylvs

It was so good!! It should be considered for the 2020 Inky Awards ;P

22nd Jul, 19
inky Centre for Youth Literature

In reply to sylvs

Thanks for the tip! Hey I think if you're not careful, contemporary is going to be your genre after all!

22nd Jul, 19
sylvs

In reply to inky

Haha it's certainly heading that way but at the moment my favourite genre hands down is fluffy romance ;)

22nd Jul, 19